Playersboycott.org: Horseplayers Boycott Churchill Downs

Churchill Downs Handle Update

PLAYERSBOYCOTT.org - June 22, 2014

Home     Handle Updates   Press Releases   News   Links   Contact   Twitter   HANA Sign Up  

Churchill Downs Handle Update - PLAYERSBOYCOTT.org - June 22, 2014

Back in April, key Executives at CHDN made a calculated decision to hit horseplayers with a takeout increase. They raised WIN-PLACE-SHOW takeout at Churchill Downs to 17.50%, an increase of 9.375% vs. last year's takeout rate of 16.00%. Takeout for all EXOTIC wagers at Churchill Downs was raised to 22.00%, an increase of 15.79% vs. last year's takeout rate of 19.00%.

Churchill numbers through the first 34 days of their meet:

Side by Side Comparison - CHURCHILL - SPRING MEET 2013 vs. 2014 
Day 2013 Track Handle Races Field
Size
  vs.   Day 2014 Track Handle Races Field
Size
Dollar
Change
PCT
Change
Sat 4/27/2013 CDX 6,426,284 11 82   vs.   Sat 4/26/2014 CDX 6,853,580 10 79 +427,296 +6.65%
Tue 4/30/2013 CDX 4,923,943 10 77   vs.   Tue 4/29/2014 CDX 4,338,665 10 73 -585,278 -11.89%
Wed 5/1/2013 CDX 7,168,841 10 79   vs.   Wed 4/30/2014 CDX 5,343,941 10 67 -1,824,900 -25.46%
Thu 5/2/2013 CDX 9,693,379 10 80   vs.   Thu 5/1/2014 CDX 7,864,440 11 77 -1,828,939 -18.87%
Fri 5/3/2013 CDX 45,675,755 12 118   vs.   Fri 5/2/2014 CDX 43,139,084 12 113 -2,536,671 -5.55%
Sat 5/4/2013 CDX 185,356,132 13 122   vs.   Sat 5/3/2014 CDX 186,660,696 13 129 +1,304,564 +0.70%
Thu 5/9/2013 CDX 5,778,495 9 67   vs.   Thu 5/8/2014 CDX 3,284,732 9 60 -2,493,763 -43.16%
Fri 5/10/2013 CDX 5,650,281 11 87   vs.   Fri 5/9/2014 CDX 4,009,295 10 68 -1,640,986 -29.04%
Sat 5/11/2013 CDX 6,733,118 11 82   vs.   Sat 5/10/2014 CDX 4,111,858 10 65 -2,621,260 -38.93%
Sun 5/12/2013 CDX 6,044,314 11 91   vs.   Sun 5/11/2014 CDX 4,515,946 10 76 -1,528,368 -25.29%
Thu 5/16/2013 CDX 3,784,805 9 69   vs.   Thu 5/15/2014 CDX 2,947,793 9 60 -837,012 -22.12%
Fri 5/17/2013 CDX 4,787,626 11 82   vs.   Fri 5/16/2014 CDX 3,673,771 10 65 -1,113,855 -23.27%
Sat 5/18/2013 CDX 8,419,412 11 95   vs.   Sat 5/17/2014 CDX 5,609,047 10 76 -2,810,365 -33.38%
Sun 5/19/2013 CDX 4,892,239 10 73   vs.   Sun 5/18/2014 CDX 3,539,570 9 68 -1,352,669 -27.65%
Thu 5/23/2013 CDX 4,373,579 9 67   vs.   Thu 5/22/2014 CDX 2,709,005 9 55 -1,664,574 -38.06%
Fri 5/24/2013 CDX 4,885,557 11 81   vs.   Fri 5/23/2014 CDX 3,789,689 10 67 -1,095,868 -22.43%
Sat 5/25/2013 CDX 8,209,962 11 99   vs.   Sat 5/24/2014 CDX 4,666,470 10 69 -3,543,492 -43.16%
Sun 5/26/2013 CDX 4,697,621 10 80   vs.   Sun 5/25/2014 CDX 3,064,242 9 58 -1,633,379 -34.77%
Mon 5/27/2013 CDX 4,481,971 11 77   vs.   Mon 5/26/2014 CDX 3,611,334 10 78 -870,637 -19.43%
Fri 5/31/2013 CDX 3,472,504 10 71   vs.   Fri 5/30/2014 CDX 2,568,211 10 59 -904,293 -26.04%
Sat 6/1/2013 CDX 4,820,134 11 66   vs.   Sat 5/31/2014 CDX 3,796,493 10 68 -1,023,641 -21.24%
Sun 6/2/2013 CDX 4,449,426 10 82   vs.   Sun 6/1/2014 CDX 2,732,211 9 56 -1,717,215 -38.59%
Thu 6/6/2013 CDX 3,082,347 9 55   vs.   Thu 6/5/2014 CDX 2,765,703 9 60 -316,644 -10.27%
Fri 6/7/2013 CDX 4,816,805 11 77   vs.   Fri 6/6/2014 CDX 2,585,185 9 62 -2,231,620 -46.33%
Sat 6/8/2013 CDX 6,226,925 11 77   vs.   Sat 6/7/2014 CDX 5,340,823 10 73 -886,102 -14.23%
Sun 6/9/2013 CDX 4,655,245 10 80   vs.   Sun 6/8/2014 CDX 2,062,551 9 60 -2,592,694 -55.69%
Thu 6/13/2013 CDX 3,277,116 9 64   vs.   Thu 6/12/2014 CDX 2,373,049 9 64 -904,067 -27.59%
Fri 6/14/2013 CDX 4,541,200 11 81   vs.   Fri 6/13/2014 CDX 3,097,145 9 60 -1,444,055 -31.80%
Sat 6/15/2013 CDX 8,391,204 11 92   vs.   Sat 6/14/2014 CDX 7,094,029 11 81 -1,297,175 -15.46%
Sun 6/16/2013 CDX 4,318,224 10 79   vs.   Sun 6/15/2014 CDX 2,771,076 9 63 -1,547,148 -35.83%
Thu 6/20/2013 CDX 2,815,227 9 62   vs.   Thu 6/19/2014 CDX 2,828,590 9 72 +13,363 +0.47%
Fri 6/21/2013 CDX 4,444,671 11 90   vs.   Fri 6/20/2014 CDX 3,049,366 10 76 -1,395,305 -31.39%
Sat 6/22/2013 CDX 5,347,519 11 91   vs.   Sat 6/21/2014 CDX 3,773,731 10 72 -1,573,788 -29.43%
Sun 6/23/2013 CDX 3,814,498 10 83   vs.   Sun 6/22/2014 CDX 3,072,613 9 73 -741,885 -19.45%


REPORT SUMMARY - CHURCHILL - SPRING MEET 2013 vs. 2014 
Days 2013     Handle Races Field
Size
  vs.   Days 2014     Handle Races Field
Size
Dollar
Change
PCT
Change
34 TOTALS   400,456,359 355 2758   vs.   34 TOTALS     353,643,934 333 2402 -46,812,425 -11.69%
  AVG/RACE   1,128,046   7.77   vs.     AVG/RACE     1,061,994   7.21 -66,052 -5.86%


DOWN $46.8 Million (-11.69%)



However, in our previous Handle Update we pointed out that Kentucky Derby Day Saturday is the single highest handle day in all of North American racing. Likewise, Kentucky Oaks Day Friday is also one of the highest handle days in all of North American racing.

What happens if we break the Kentucky Oaks Day Friday and Kentucky Derby Day Saturday cards out as special event days - and remove both of them from the above table?

This is what the numbers look like for the 32 regular race days run so far this meet:


Side by Side Comparison - CHURCHILL SPRING MEET - 2013 vs. 2014 - Regular Race Days Only 
Day 2013 Track Handle Races Field
Size
  vs.   Day 2014 Track Handle Races Field
Size
Dollar
Change
PCT
Change
Sat 4/27/2013 CDX 6,426,284 11 82   vs.   Sat 4/26/2014 CDX 6,853,580 10 79 +427,296 +6.65%
Tue 4/30/2013 CDX 4,923,943 10 77   vs.   Tue 4/29/2014 CDX 4,338,665 10 73 -585,278 -11.89%
Wed 5/1/2013 CDX 7,168,841 10 79   vs.   Wed 4/30/2014 CDX 5,343,941 10 67 -1,824,900 -25.46%
Thu 5/2/2013 CDX 9,693,379 10 80   vs.   Thu 5/1/2014 CDX 7,864,440 11 77 -1,828,939 -18.87%
Thu 5/9/2013 CDX 5,778,495 9 67   vs.   Thu 5/8/2014 CDX 3,284,732 9 60 -2,493,763 -43.16%
Fri 5/10/2013 CDX 5,650,281 11 87   vs.   Fri 5/9/2014 CDX 4,009,295 10 68 -1,640,986 -29.04%
Sat 5/11/2013 CDX 6,733,118 11 82   vs.   Sat 5/10/2014 CDX 4,111,858 10 65 -2,621,260 -38.93%
Sun 5/12/2013 CDX 6,044,314 11 91   vs.   Sun 5/11/2014 CDX 4,515,946 10 76 -1,528,368 -25.29%
Thu 5/16/2013 CDX 3,784,805 9 69   vs.   Thu 5/15/2014 CDX 2,947,793 9 60 -837,012 -22.12%
Fri 5/17/2013 CDX 4,787,626 11 82   vs.   Fri 5/16/2014 CDX 3,673,771 10 65 -1,113,855 -23.27%
Sat 5/18/2013 CDX 8,419,412 11 95   vs.   Sat 5/17/2014 CDX 5,609,047 10 76 -2,810,365 -33.38%
Sun 5/19/2013 CDX 4,892,239 10 73   vs.   Sun 5/18/2014 CDX 3,539,570 9 68 -1,352,669 -27.65%
Thu 5/23/2013 CDX 4,373,579 9 67   vs.   Thu 5/22/2014 CDX 2,709,005 9 55 -1,664,574 -38.06%
Fri 5/24/2013 CDX 4,885,557 11 81   vs.   Fri 5/23/2014 CDX 3,789,689 10 67 -1,095,868 -22.43%
Sat 5/25/2013 CDX 8,209,962 11 99   vs.   Sat 5/24/2014 CDX 4,666,470 10 69 -3,543,492 -43.16%
Sun 5/26/2013 CDX 4,697,621 10 80   vs.   Sun 5/25/2014 CDX 3,064,242 9 58 -1,633,379 -34.77%
Mon 5/27/2013 CDX 4,481,971 11 77   vs.   Mon 5/26/2014 CDX 3,611,334 10 78 -870,637 -19.43%
Fri 5/31/2013 CDX 3,472,504 10 71   vs.   Fri 5/30/2014 CDX 2,568,211 10 59 -904,293 -26.04%
Sat 6/1/2013 CDX 4,820,134 11 66   vs.   Sat 5/31/2014 CDX 3,796,493 10 68 -1,023,641 -21.24%
Sun 6/2/2013 CDX 4,449,426 10 82   vs.   Sun 6/1/2014 CDX 2,732,211 9 56 -1,717,215 -38.59%
Thu 6/6/2013 CDX 3,082,347 9 55   vs.   Thu 6/5/2014 CDX 2,765,703 9 60 -316,644 -10.27%
Fri 6/7/2013 CDX 4,816,805 11 77   vs.   Fri 6/6/2014 CDX 2,585,185 9 62 -2,231,620 -46.33%
Sat 6/8/2013 CDX 6,226,925 11 77   vs.   Sat 6/7/2014 CDX 5,340,823 10 73 -886,102 -14.23%
Sun 6/9/2013 CDX 4,655,245 10 80   vs.   Sun 6/8/2014 CDX 2,062,551 9 60 -2,592,694 -55.69%
Thu 6/13/2013 CDX 3,277,116 9 64   vs.   Thu 6/12/2014 CDX 2,373,049 9 64 -904,067 -27.59%
Fri 6/14/2013 CDX 4,541,200 11 81   vs.   Fri 6/13/2014 CDX 3,097,145 9 60 -1,444,055 -31.80%
Sat 6/15/2013 CDX 8,391,204 11 92   vs.   Sat 6/14/2014 CDX 7,094,029 11 81 -1,297,175 -15.46%
Sun 6/16/2013 CDX 4,318,224 10 79   vs.   Sun 6/15/2014 CDX 2,771,076 9 63 -1,547,148 -35.83%
Thu 6/20/2013 CDX 2,815,227 9 62   vs.   Thu 6/19/2014 CDX 2,828,590 9 72 +13,363 +0.47%
Fri 6/21/2013 CDX 4,444,671 11 90   vs.   Fri 6/20/2014 CDX 3,049,366 10 76 -1,395,305 -31.39%
Sat 6/22/2013 CDX 5,347,519 11 91   vs.   Sat 6/21/2014 CDX 3,773,731 10 72 -1,573,788 -29.43%
Sun 6/23/2013 CDX 3,814,498 10 83   vs.   Sun 6/22/2014 CDX 3,072,613 9 73 -741,885 -19.45%


REPORT SUMMARY - CHURCHILL SPRING MEET - 2013 vs. 2014 - Regular Race Days Only 
Days 2013     Handle Races Field
Size
  vs.   Days 2014     Handle Races Field
Size
Dollar
Change
PCT
Change
32 TOTALS   169,424,472 330 2518   vs.   32 TOTALS     123,844,154 308 2160 -45,580,318 -26.90%
  AVG/RACE   513,407   7.63   vs.     AVG/RACE     402,091   7.01 -111,316 -21.68%


The above numbers - for the 32 regular race cards so far this meet - are telling:

• Avg Field Size is down 0.62 starters per race. (-8.13%)

And yes, you'd expect that to have a negative impact on handle - but not to the extent handle has fallen for 30 of the 32 regular race days so far this meet:

• Total handle? DOWN $45.6 Million (-26.90%)

• Avg Handle per Race? DOWN -$111,316  (-21.68%)

• Avg Handle per Day? DOWN -$1,424,385 (-26.90%)



Do the above numbers suggest everyday horseplayers are staying away?

Could everyday horseplayers be saying "no" to higher takeout?

• Churchill's meet is 38 days long. There are 34 days in the books and 4 days left to go. You the everyday horseplayer still have a very big say in all of this.

• Stay the course for the next 4 days and the racing world will hear your message loud and clear.

• PLAYERSBOYCOTT.org is asking horseplayers to consider the idea that horseplayers are consumers and that every handle dollar bet not just at Churchill Downs, but at CHDN owned tracks Arlington Park, Calder, and Fairgrounds, along with every handle dollar bet through CHDN owned ADW Twinspires.com, and every dollar spent downloading data and reports from CHDN owned data provider Brisnet.com is a vote for higher takeout everywhere.

• PLAYERSBOYCOTT.org also wants horseplayers to know there are plenty of tracks running this summer whose wagering menus offer better value than Churchill and that players have other options when it comes to choice of ADWs and data providers.


* About the above numbers: The above numbers were compiled by horseplayers who spent volunteer man-hours combing through the charts hand keying pool amounts into a spreadsheet. If you notice an obvious mistake please let us know by email at: info @ hanaweb . org (remove the blank spaces first)


Tracks you may want to check out this weekend:

• Woodbine: 14.95% WIN takeout

• Belmont: 16.0% takeout WPS    18.50% takeout Exactas and Doubles    15.0% takeout 50 cent Pick5 races 1-5    (arguably the most insightful pre-race TV analysis of any track out there.)

• Santa Anita: 15.43% takeout WPS    18.0% takeout rolling Doubles    14.0% takeout 50 cent Pick5 races 1-5.

• Gulfstream: 15.0% takeout 50 cent Pick5

• Hastings Park: 15.0% takeout WPS, Double, Pick3, Pick4, and Pick5

• Northlands Park: 14.50% takeout WPS    10.0% takeout Pick5    (the LOWEST WPS and Pick5 takeout of any track in North America)

• Prairie Meadows: 15.0% takeout 50 cent Pick4

• Monmouth: 19.0% takeout Exacta and Double    15.0% takeout 50 cent Pick4 and Pick5


NEW! Printable Takeout Guide for your Wallet! click here

NEW! Printable Takeout Guide for your Desk! click here

These two printable PDF charts point out, at a glance, Player friendly wagers available at North American thoroughbred tracks. "Player friendly" is defined as less than 17% for WPS and less than 20% for all other wagers. Focusing wagering handle on these pools is a way to send the message to all tracks that lower takeout rate wagers will be supported and that lowering takeout rates on all wagers is the most efficient path to future wagering handle growth. Please also note that while several wager types for Arlington and Calder appear on the list at this time we recommend avoiding them during the boycott of their parent company, Churchill Downs Incorporated.

Copyright 2014 PlayersBoycott.org              http://www.playersboycott.org